OPINION: Russian Caravan

Posted: December 7, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

20131207_114650_resized

Purchased from: http://www.teahorse.co.uk

Price: £11.95 monthly subscription

http://teahorse.co.uk/tea/russian-caravan/

 

Smoked ham. Smoked cheese. Smoked bacon. All good in my book. Smokey tea though….?

 

I’ve never enjoyed Lapsang Souchong tea but I wanted to try a different smoked tea and as this came as part of my monthly subscription it wasn’t costing me anything to try it.

 

20131207_114638_resized

 

The dry leaves smell lovely and the smokiness doesn’t take over. There is a lovely blend of teas in here with some oolong blended in for good measure too and a pinch of Lapsang. This looks like a quality blend as you can see in the picture above.

20131207_114930_resized

Four minutes with boiling water and it’s ready – this smells lovely as it is brewing.

20131207_115248_resized_1

What works well with this Russian Caravan is that it doesn’t suffer from being overpowering. The smokiness is there and it’s pretty much at the front of the aroma but it never takes over and this has changed my opinion on smoked tea.

I couldn’t drink this all the time but as a little treat once in a while it would be nice. Pop it in an airtight tin and bring it out once in a while when you want something flavoursome.

60%

Leave a comment