OPINION: Whittards Happy Valley Darjeeling 2nd Flush SFTGFOP1

Posted: April 27, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

20140427-101310.jpg

Produced by: Whittards

Price: £16.00 p/ 100g

I see Darjeelings like I see champagnes or single malt whiskeys, just because they are viewed as a high quality product does not mean that I will like them any the more than anything else. I have had a mixed experience with these teas and have found some that I have tried to just be far too astringent and just not nice to drink. This Happy Valley Darjeeling kind of swung more into being likeable as it doesn’t suffer the astringent issues but it does leave a nice astringent taste on the tip of the tongue as an afterthought.

20140427-101508.jpg

I got this as a free sample (hence the small quantity) but I wouldn’t buy it again. At that price point it would have to be something outstanding and this for me is nothing special I’m afraid. For the Darjeeling lovers you may well enjoy it but this hasn’t converted me.

55%

Leave a Reply

