OPINION: Twinings Mint Humbug (Pyramids)

Posted: November 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

kkk

Produced by: Twinings

Cost: £4.29 for 15 (Tesco – currently 2 for £7.00)

I’m not usually a fan of mint teas as a rule and whilst I understand their purpose in terms of aiding digestion it isn’t something I would usually buy and have been put off by poor quality mint teabags in the past. So this was something of a departure for me to try these but what a revelation they really are.

Blending peppermint and spearmint gives a very clean and refreshing taste and after a few seconds of tasting it, there is a real mint hit that comes along after the initial sweetness of the brew. I brew these for around four minutes in water just off the boil and am rewarded with a really intense but not overpowering and refreshing brew.

Perfect for an after dinner drink or maybe even between courses, these Mint Humbug pyramid bags have won me back round to mint teas again and I imagine it would take a lot to beat them.

They are not the cheapest option out there but a couple of supermarkets do run them on promotion, the first ones I bought were reduced and the second were on a 2 for £7.00 offer so it’s not going to suit everyones pockets but then again you do get what you pay for here. Likewise this isn’t something that I would drink everyday either so a box would probably last me for a month, maybe more. I would also be interested to see how well this would work as a cold drink so may try this next summer (pending the weather of course!)

Well done to Twinings for creating something so tasty, from me a really well deserved

90%

 

Comments
  1. […] dominate the cup in any way. Don’t buy this as a mint tea as you may feel disappointed (see https://morebloodytea.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/opinion-twinings-mint-humbug-pyramids/ for a really strong mint tea) but that said the two flavours do work well together. My first […]

Leave a Reply

